Sock Therapy

I love knitting socks. I think I may be a Sock Knitter. I know there are people out there who do nothing but socks. I used to think they were nutty, but now I’m becoming one of them!

Socks are so appealing for so many reasons. Their popularity means there are endless patterns available. There’s always something new to learn, too, since there are about a zillion ways to turn a heel, knit a gusset, or form a toe. You can knit toe-up or cuff-down and do them one or two at a time, which means knitting socks socks socks doesn’t have to be boring and repetitive. You can make them as easy or as complicated as you want; if you do something complicated, the project is of manageable size–trying out a new stitch or cable pattern doesn’t have to be threatening or scary since socks are done on a small scale. They’re so fun to try on as you go, and they knit up quick even if you choose a smaller needle size for a finer fabric (gauge). And don’t even get me started on the glories of sock yarn! There’s so much variety plus you only need one skein per pair of socks, meaning that knocking out a pair won’t break the bank (I suppose if you’re knitting 2-3 pair per month, things are a little different, but still)!

When I left for Indonesia, I packed only materials for sock knitting. All that’s needed beyond needles is maybe a stitch marker or two and maybe a needle (depending on the pattern). They’re perfect for travelling with since they don’t take up much space, even when they’re nearly all knit. Most of the time, patterns are repetitive and easily memorized, adding to their travel-ability. And of course, you can knock off a pair of socks in a week or two or even faster depending on how much of a speedster you are, meaning knitting for friends and family is quite feasible. Who doesn’t love giving away handknits?

I can’t express my love of sock knitting enough. What’s your favorite sock knitting pattern? (This is my new favorite!) What do you like about knitting socks? How many pair of socks have you made?

Here’s a gratuitous gallery of my recent sock knitting, all done in Indonesia.

2 thoughts on “Sock Therapy

Leave a Reply

